Returning to Canada with Tobacco: Receipts Required?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

SmokeyCanuck

Lurker
Nov 9, 2023
Hey everyone, I've looked for the answer but haven't found it.
It's my first time returning to Canada from the US with tobacco. I don't have the receipt for my 200g and I was wondering if that will cause my stuff to be seized. I'm sorry if it's a silly question but they can be hard a$$e$ at the Canadian side of border.
Should I leave it cellared here for when I visit or just go for it?
It's my favorite blend and I don't want to loose it lol
Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

Pipeoff

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 22, 2021
Western New York
If you search prior posts on this subject you will note that the amount you are bringing in is the max allowed duty free. Not sure if Customs would have a gram scale at the ready. The receipt may be a good thing to produce if required to identify as tobacco.

SmokeyCanuck

Lurker
Nov 9, 2023
You're within the limit, so why would not having a receipt matter? What if someone gave you a gift of a couple of tins, amount within the limits?
The looking around that I did, and Customs sites are a mire of situational vagueness, doesn't show having a receipt as a requirement.
I'm not sure why it would matter I've also found the same vagueness, and have also not found anything stating we require receipts.

SmokeyCanuck

Lurker
Nov 9, 2023
If you search prior posts on this subject you will note that the amount you are bringing in is the max allowed duty free. Not sure if Customs would have a gram scale at the ready. The receipt may be a good thing to produce if required to identify as tobacco.
Yes it's the max allowance, and I actually might leave two tins of Cornell and Diehl that I'm not super pumped about and just bring back the two tins of presbyterian reformed, and I don't have receipts for them unfortunately :(