Newbie. Tried Carter Hall, Didn't Like It. Suggestions?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cometodaddy

Lurker
Sep 28, 2017
Hey everyone. I'm new to pipe smoking. I've never really been a smoker. Smoked a pack of cigs at one point in my life, but just couldn't get used to it. I thought maybe pipe tobacco would be better quality and be a better experience, so I picked up a Meerschaum cob and some Carter Hall. I read Carter Hall was a good starter tobacco. After smoking a few bowls, I'm not really a fan. It tasted cheap like Black and Milds or something. If anyone could recommend an aromatic, something that's much more on the sweet side, I'd really appreciate it.
Thanks!

lazar

Can't Leave
May 5, 2015
It's a cliche' to suggest that new pipe smokers start out with "Carter Hall and cob." But if CH were the only tobacco I would not smoke a pipe. I can't stand the stuff.
You're in luck if you're looking for something sweet. If I were you I'd skip all the usual stuff people might suggest like 1Q or BCA, and head straight over to Boswell's website. Choose an ounce of a few blends that sound good to you, and you'll be set. They're all good, but favorites of mine are Piper's Pleasure, Cupcake, and Bear Blend. And while you're at it, if you like the idea of smoky tasting tobacco, pick up an oz of Countryside which has a healthy dose of latakia but is still sweet.

txpiper07

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 18, 2017
Cult Abacus has been one of the best tasting aromatics I’ve tried in my very short pipe smoking tenure. I introduced a guy I work with to it as his first pipe smoke and he liked it a lot.

bassbug

Lifer
Dec 29, 2016
I would add MacBaren Original Choice and/or Vanilla Creme.
But don't dump the Carter Hall...I somehow suspect you'll come back to it :)

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
Hi, Welcome to the forum!