PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

macbean

Lurker
Jul 17, 2014
I've been smoking a pipe -- off and on -- for well over 50 years. That, however, doesn't mean I know anything. But I continue to learn through forums like this, and I'm anxious to read and learn more about what has been a wonderful relaxing, reflective hobby. I regard a good book and a good pipe a a major means of avoiding therapy. For the most part, I enjoy straight Virginia blends that just seem to get better and better even as the anti-tobacco forces conspire to shut us all down. As a Canadian, I worry that my sources of supply are gradually being shut down as it becomes harder and harder to acquire good tobaccos. Other areas of personal interest include lathe work -- both metal and wood; playing (and building) mandolins; and growing tobaccos, but perfection in that aspect of our hobby remains illusive.
I hope to participate in some good discussions, and thanks for letting me join in. . .

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Welcome aboard. There are many Canadians here so I'm sure they'll be looking to hook up with you. Enjoy your time here. We're generally a loveable lot.

tuold

Lifer
Oct 15, 2013
Beaverton,Oregon
Welcome Mr. Macbean.
Supply may eventually become a problem for us all, so it's wise to begin cellaring. :)
I'm with you on the pipe and book combination. I've recently finished all the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Mysterious Island and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, all with the help of pipe and tobacco. I just started War of the Worlds yesterday. All of the classics I thought were so boring in high school are now fascinating.
I'd like to see some pictures of your mandolins. My wife plays a Breedlove made here in Oregon.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
I'm a new member but I've been reading a lot about the subject matter so I can already 'hear' the responses to the following question.
What tobacco cellars/hoards best?