PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

jeff540

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 25, 2016
Southwest Virginia
I've been smoking pipes and cigars daily for almost 30 years now for the utter enjoyment of it, and swithed to 90% pipes about 15 years ago, so I'm not a newb. Averaged at least 3 or 4 bowls a day. I always got great visceral satisfaction out of it (taste and smell), never for the nicotine. VA blends were always my favorite, followed closely by VaPer, Balkan, and English. That all changed after my first bout with COVID in early 2020, but my enjoyment came back almost 100% after a few months.

Got the dreaded virus again May 2022, and since then I have absolutely no enjoyment at all from pipe smoking over the last year. I tired deep cleaning, resting pipes (25+ pipes, some rested for several months at a time), and all blend styles. Unfortunately, I can't really tell the difference between Stonehaven and SWR - quite literally. They all just taste like bitter trash. I even opened a tin of McClellend dark stoved in desperation and that wasn't pleasant at all.

So, now I haven't smoked pipes in about 3 weeks. Tried a bowl of Stonehaven from 2018 last night, and I couldn't finish it. If I'm honest, coffee is also not nearly as enjoyable as it once was but I need my morning caffeine. Conversely, all other tastes and smells are either normal or better than normal.

Thus, with all that said I'm thinking it might be an opportune time to just give up the hobby (I have way too many hobbies anyway). Anyone have similar experiences?

JSPiper71

Jan 3, 2022
Toronto Canada
I had a bout of Covid that messed up my taste buds. Similar situation where the tobacco tasted bland and indistinguishable. Thankfully it only lasted a couple of weeks for me. Sorry to hear it's a lingering problem. I'd drink more bourbon and see if it helps, but then again, that's my solution for nearly all of life's problems! Good luck, hopefully over time you'll regain your taste buds.

AJL67

Lifer
May 26, 2022