PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Johnny_Pipecleaner

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 13, 2019
Mill Valley, CA
Howdy all, new member here. Not a brand new pipe smoker, but I am new to meerschaum.

I picked up this neat little piece from SmokingPipes, and I'm getting a little gurgle during the 2nd half of the bowl (most times). This is my first meerschaum and I was hoping it wouldn't gurgle on me since they are reported to have such fine smoking properties.

Aside from the usual suspects (fast cadence, wet tobacco, clenching with a wet mouth) are there any other reasons this might be happening?

I read on Reddit that sometimes meerschaums (especially with screw-on stems) need to have the airway opened up a bit? They suggested a 5/32" drill bit and a lot of caution, but I'm not going to do anything of the sort.
I've also read that bent pipes are more prone to gurgle, which makes sense as they might funnel stem moisture down into the bottom of the bowl.

Thanks!

Reactions: danimalia

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
Here it is. Meerschaum can absorb a lot, so it's not impossible it has excess moisture in it prior to your getting it. Dry your tobacco more, and try to smoke it to the bottom. That will push moisture out of the pipe, if that's what's happened.

And where do you live? Some places can be very humid!

002-574-1439.5323.jpg

danimalia

Lifer
Sep 2, 2015
San Francisco Bay Area, USA
This has been one of my concerns about getting a meerschaum, particularly a bent meer. Does the pipe take a cleaner to the chamber? Most of my briars had a gurgle at first, but eventually stopped after breaking in, but I am not sure if that would be the case with meer since you're not building cake. As JPM said, maybe it is just some residual moisture and it will eventually dry up.

Reactions: Johnny_Pipecleaner

Johnny_Pipecleaner

Nov 13, 2019
Mill Valley, CA