PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 20, 2019
I'm new to pipe smoking
I've bought a pouch of Captain Black Gold last month, to smoke once in a week. Well, as you can guess, I loved the taste when it was new but now it's annoying.
I've read some threads on this forum, and saw that many members suggest buying a tin instead of a pouch. But I consume very little amounts, and Captain Black tins are too huge (12 oz) and I know I would never finish them.
So, is there any way to store tobacco in small scales for a long time?

burleyboy

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 30, 2019
Europe

These are, what I use for storage. They come in different sizes and I try to take ones, that do not leave too much emty space.

I rarely have to rehydrate any tobacco, but when I do, I put the tobacco in a strainer and hold it over boiling water for just a few seconds.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Because many blends come quite moist and may smoke nicely, you may think dryer tobacco has had it. In most cases, it's not so. The jars are highly recommended by one and all, and hydrating is fine if you like a more moist tobacco, but it is not necessary for a good smoke in most cases. Some blends are improved by letting them dry outside the jar before smoking, for a better light and more even burn.

Jef

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 10, 2019
North Carolina
Lately I have been smoking Captain Black in the pouch. Sometimes the tobacco is really dry even though the pouch is wrapped. To fix the problem, this is what I do. I bought a ceramic pineapple at a gift shop. I put the tobacco in the base. Then I take a paper towel an cut it to the size of the inside of the lid. I get it wet under the cold water tap and squeeze out any excess. I just stick it to the underside of the lid. It will say there with no problem. I put the lid on and just check it every day. It never takes longer than 3 days. Most of the time it only takes 2. Try it, it works.

Jef