PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rd02sir

Can't Leave
Nov 1, 2011
Well my package finally arrived today, kind of ironic because I called smokingpipes just an hour prior, wondering where my package was, as the USPS tracking said it was in Miami FL since Sept 30th. As I was on the phone, the mail man dropped it off!
I've been chasing that perfect blend, and want to start exploring some Va. Backstory; I was in Ireland and got some RYO Amber Leaf that is a golden Virginia. I absolutely loved it, and have been chasing for that same flavor, aroma and pleasure.
What i got:

Peterson's Perfect Plug 50g

Peterson's University Flake 50g

Wessex Golden Brick 100g

and another Brigham pipe tool to replace the exact one I lost.
I decided to fool around with some of the plugs, as it's my first time with a plug tobacco. I cut a few slices off each, a bit more off the Wessex so the rest can go in a jar to age for a bit.
I busted open the University Flake and was presented with a pleasant aroma of plum and rasins. I fully rubbed out 3/4 of a flake and set it under a lamp to dry out, as I like my tobacco (especially as almost a strict aromatic smoker) almost on the verge of crispy.
I decided "what better way to try a Peterson blend than in my Peterson System 314. Packed the bowl after the tobacco moisture was more to my liking, and headed out to the backyard.
My first char light went like clockwork. Tamp and repeat. After the second light, the tobacco stayed lit the entire bowl, only needing to tamp every so often, more than im used to actually. Nice white billowing smoke lead by a nice light plum/raisin flavor. The smoke stayed somewhat cool,but I was puffing like a mad man, on a barely broken in Pete. Flavor of the plum nearly deminished after 3/4 of the bowl, but leaving a nice tobacco flavor.