PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Ryan

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 30, 2021
Noblesville Indiana USA
I’ve been smoking a pipe since September of 2021, so please know I am a relatively new smoker compared with most of you.

The first “name” pipes I pursued were Charatan, and I like classic Brit pipes in general largely because of the traditional styling and quality build on many of them. My favorites also have very comfortable stems.

I’ve recently come to like the Peterson pipes as well (system and non-system; p-lip and regular), and own a number of them.

These classic Britwood and Petersons pipes smoke well and I enjoy them.

Now I’ve become interested in Italian pipes. I have several from a few different makers (Castello, Mastro de Paja, Mastro Geppetto, Caminetto, etc) and I swear every one of them smokes great. In general, I probably prefer the stem work of the British pipes, but these Italian pipes smoke so well.

Why does it seem that all these Italian pipes are such good smokers? Is it just that they tend to have an open bore? Are Italian pipe makers able to get better briar? Am I full of shit and it’s all in my mind? Is it better quality control?

Perhaps they just suit my smoking style, I don’t know. I’m not even sure exactly what that would entail. I do know there will be more Italian pipes in my future. There will also be more Comoys, Petersons, Charatans, Barling’s Make, etc. because I can’t seem to quit finding more pipes I want to own.

kcghost

Lifer
May 6, 2011
Olathe, Kansas
You'll find great pipes from just about every country. I happen to prefer American pipe the most but must admit I have English pipes, Danish Pipes and Italian pipes and they all smoke great. Have a real love for Castello pipes.

Reactions: Ryan

FLDRD

Lifer
Oct 13, 2021
Arkansas
I’ve been smoking a pipe since September of 2021, so please know I am a relatively new smoker compared with most of you.