PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

aquilas

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 3, 2013
Do any of you ever introduce yourselves whenever you spot another pipe smoker that you don't know?
I've been working at my current job for nearly 10 years. During those 10 years, there was always this man who would smoke his pipe and read a book during his breaks. Some days, I'd spot him. Other days, I would walk by and actually get a whiff of the pipe tobacco aromas. It always smelled like chocolate, vanilla, or both. In a way, this guy was one of the main catalysts to me picking up the briar.
Anyways, fast foward to yesterday. Work was slow (and by slow, I mean I had work to do, but it's stuff I do day in and day out, so it was mindless and boring) and I decided to go out for a full bowl pipe break. I open my pipe drawer, take out my work pipe (just an estate Lorco billiard), figure out what tobacco I want (ended up going with some Capt Black White...haven't smoke it in months and I must say, after some aging, it really mellowed out and was tons enjoyable from what I last remember), fill the bowl, and head out. I walk to my normal spot and I see the man smoking his pipe on a bench, reading a book as usual (this time it was a kindle or something). I get to my spot, enjoy my pipe for an hour or so, and then start walking back. I see that he's still there, so I muster up the courage to introduce myself to him. I had envisioned that the conversation was going to be quick and meaningless and that he might've been annoyed that I was inconveniencing him, but I was wrong...