Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

raf66

Might Stick Around
Mar 2, 2010
Hi all. Yesterday I purchased from an elderly man a meerschaum pipe that he said he brought back with him from Turkey upon his return from the service in 1954. It is clearly unsmoked and it is simply stunning. The case is clearly one that was specifically made for the pipe and it appears rather dated as well, though it has no identifying markings in it. The pipe itself is stamped "Made in Turkey" on one side of the stem, and "Osman" on the other side. The stem has what I think is commonly referred to as a metal "stinger" on the part that screws into the shank. This piece is not completely hollow but has a slight opening on the side of it that allows for the draw.
Do any of you have any information about this brand of meer? I'm new to the meer world and am just starting to collect/smoke them so this is all new to me.
Thanks for the info.

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
I did a quick search and could not really find anything about them. A photo might help.
Like Kevin said, there are tons of Meerschaum pipes out there and a lot of them are really hard to find any info on.

raf66

Might Stick Around
Mar 2, 2010
Yes, I will post pics later tonight. I'm wondering if "Osman" may actually be referring to the area of Turkey where it was made.

raf66

Might Stick Around
Mar 2, 2010
Here are some pics.

pipe11.jpg

pipe12.jpg

pipe5.jpg

pipe9.jpg

Sorry. My camera won't take a pic of the "Osman" or "Made in Turkey" insignia on the stem.

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
That's a nice looking Meer Raf! Is that a real amber stem?