PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mole

Might Stick Around
Dec 29, 2010
I was just curious if anyone has gone from cigs to pipe recently and could give me an idea of how long before my tastebuds will start to work again.
I've been smoking a pack a day for 30 years now (started when I was 12) and I've heard it can take anywhere from a week to 90 days depending on the person. I'm really looking forward to actually being able to taste the tobaccos I'm smoking.

hilojohnny

Lifer
Oct 2, 2010
Well Mole....Just be patient....it could even take longer....but your patience will pay off eventually and the wait is more than worth it.... :D

bubbadreier

Lifer
Jul 30, 2010
Norman, Oklahoma
I can't answer your question for you since I was really only a 2 a day cigarette smoker, but I can say welcome to the site and congrats on quitting those nasty cigarettes!! You will find that we are a pretty friendly group around here!

unclearthur

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
Welcome to the site Mole. As I quit cigarettes longer ago than when you started I am afraid I can't help with your question though .

krgulick

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
I would think it depends on the person. Like hilo says, just be patient and you will get to the point of getting to know the different tobaccos used for pipe smoking.

cornguy

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 3, 2011
Good luck, Mole.

It ain't easy (but you know that).

I know whereof I speak.

I've gone from cigs to a pipe three times -- once in my 20s, again in my 30s and then a few months ago. In my first two transition periods I smoked a pipe exclusively for several years. I'm 62 now.