PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Coreios

Lifer
Sep 23, 2022
United States Of America
Should be one of the easiest smokes there is…..Carter Hall.
That's an aromatic. Give it good dry time. And like The Iron Monkey said pack it looser. Also, I've had some ribbon cut that they didn't do a good job on. If you see thick chunks break them up. Could also use all those methods on a different pipe and see if that's causing it. I love Irish Black X it's a relighter for sure, I mixed a little ribbon cut Bayou Morning in it. Doesn't change the flavor and it stays lit now.

Coreios

Lifer
Sep 23, 2022
United States Of America
Another thing I just thought of, don't over char when you do your char light. You dont want to create a super thick burnt char that smothers the flame. Just a light char then light it up.

gervais

Lifer
Sep 4, 2019
Ontario
Don't get frustrated, as hard as that may be. I've been smoking a pipe now for 4 years and relights are my life! Just enjoy the flavours while it's burning and relight as necessary.

It's kinda funny actually, how I have struggled with keeping a pipe lit for this long. I clearly am not doing something "right" seeing how many others here can apparently go about their business with a pipe lit for an hour like it's nothing. I've tried every which way to dry out, rub out and pack and I still can't get an entire bowl to smolder with minimal relights. Maybe the humidity in my area is always too high, preventing my drying time to make a difference. Maybe I just suck at smoking a pipe! 😂🤣

Oh well, I still enjoy it.

jaingorenard

Can't Leave
Apr 11, 2022
Norwich, UK