PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

setherd

Lurker
May 9, 2013
I'm new to pipe smoking. I started with some Captain Black gold and an aromatic from a local tobacco store, but really wasn't that impressed.

I'm very busy and was hoping to find a local place that carried Dunhill Nightcap or McClelland Frog morton.

Last week a had a little time between jobs and used my phone to look for any local tobacco store that might carry pipe tobacco. I found one.

The store looks like a tobacco lovers garage. Boxes piled everywhere, it was a mess. Mostly cigars with a nice walk in humidor but he had quite a bit of bulk pipe tobacco as well. He only carried 3 brands of tinned though.

But here was why I am glad I went to a local place instead of just randomly picking things out online. We talked a while, I told him what I had tried so far, he was trying to steer me towards the milder blends. Once I told him I'd been smoking cigars for almost 20 years he immediately said, "you'll probably love an English then".
Long story short, he recommended Peterson's Old Dublin. Once I got to smoke it in my $5 corn cob, I loved it! It had the complex flavors and some spiciness I usually associate with a good cigar.

I'm not sure if it's the latakia I like or something else but I am looking forward to experimenting till I find out :)

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
Old Dublin is a wonderful blend; I smoke it regularly, and have been for years.
Get it in a good briar, and it will sing for you. :puffy:

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
setherd, welcome to the forum. Glad to hear you found something you like. Being a former cigar smoker, you might want to try Escudo. It is a world class blend that opened my eyes to how good pipe smoking can be. I would suggest you get a few more pipes so that way you can rest them properly.

daytonsean

Lifer
Aug 28, 2012
Dayton