PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

chuckp

Might Stick Around
Nov 30, 2015
How do you folks feel about them? I'm very new to smoking....period! So, I have no need for nicotine, but want to experience the aromas of some fine pipe tobaccos...sounds like a crazy thing to start at 52, given such a dislike of cigarettes and cigars so much. I want to stay away from tobaccos that have a high nicotine content, I'm after the aroma.
So do the pipe filters work well in holding back th N?

michaelmirza

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 21, 2015
Chicago, IL
I think pipe filters absorb moisture more than they effect nicotine, but I could be wrong. My general mantra about filters is that if a pipe was designed to use one, such as a Savinelli, the airflow will be most ideal with a filter. But I mostly buy pipes that specifically were not designed for filter use.

hextor

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 20, 2015
I usually take them out, I think the taste improves a bit

prairiedruid

Lifer
Jun 30, 2015
I started smoking a pipe at 45; never too old to explore something new. I smoke predominantly cobs and have removed the filters. I found the filters toned down the flavor and absorbed a lot of moisture. Going without filters I find a better draw and fuller flavors when I smoke. If moisture becomes a problem mid smoke I use a pipe cleaner to take care of it; however it is pretty rare that I need to do that.

demetrakopoulos

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 1, 2015
Chicago, Illinois
I like how they keep the moisture down since I smoke aromatics which, to my understanding, gather more moisture than non aromatics. The problem is that I don't feel like I'm getting the full experience of the tobacco I'm smoking, although it might just be a subconscious thing. To combat the moisture problem, I've started using these pipe stones that do a pretty good job of keeping the moisture levels low. So, since I've been using those, I've had no need for a filter.

mso489