PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cabinfever

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 6, 2016
Is there a difference between "cellaring" and "aging"? Or, are the terms synonymous?
As a newbie, I have assumed that cellaring is akin to stockpiling for the upcoming apocalypse, like one might do with food, water, and ammo. I especially get this perception when I see some of the photos members have posted of their stashes. Holy smokes!
And aging, I have assumed when this term is brought up that stored tobacco gets better with age, like wine and men. IS that true? I know tobacco is aged before it is sold. But, does it get better with age after it is sold?
Right now I've spent close to $100 on small tins and pouches of tobacco. I am in the process of trying many different varieties. blends, and flavors to find the ones I like best. I have no idea which ones I what to invest in for the long term.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
Good question; a hundred answers. Search for articles by GL Pease. There are also many discussions of it in the forum.
As to difference in terms, sometimes they are synonymous, other times maybe not; depends on context.

jitterbugdude

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2014
I make a distinction between the 2 terms
Cellaring: I cellar any tobacco that might degrade over time. This would be any aromatic or anything with Latakia in it. I place these tobaccos into mason jars or mylar bags with an O2 absorber.
Aging: For tobacco that will improve with age such as a Virginia or tobaccos with lots of sugars added I let these age in the tin ( or a mason jar).

northernneil

Lifer
Jun 1, 2013
I have always looks at the two terms as being slightly different. One term discibes the tobacco, the other term discribes the place the tobacco is stored. For example, I am aging my tobacco in my cellar.

mawnansmiff

Lifer
Oct 14, 2015
Sunny Cornwall, UK.
Cabinfever, first off welcome to the forum :puffy: