PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

chilllucky

Lifer
Jul 15, 2018
Chicago, IL, USA
scoosa.com
I am going to try to build an automatic flue curing chamber for next year's crop of home-grown Virginia Tobaccos. Growing the plants; I have one year of experience at. Building a box; I have many, many years experience doing. Getting a computer to take temperature and humidity readings and turning things on and off to hold those values to a schedule that changes over time? The thought of it gives me an ulcer.
Is there anyone in the community here who can/does/likes to mess around with this kind of thing? I'm checking here first because I'm hoping to exchange the product of my hobby for the product of yours.
Message me for details if you're interested.

elessar

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2019
I have done some arduino programming in the past as I built a 3d printer that runs or at least loads software through arduino. Programming a couple PID routines shouldn't be too bad. Can I ask what devices you wish to control to achieve temp and humidity goals? Also how complex is the schedule? Perhaps actual stand alone PID controllers would work without the need for any programming, other than setting them up. You wouldn't need a computer running either. I built a beer brewing machine for home brewing that uses PID control through a solid state relay to control heating elements. Very easy setup and quite accurate. Might be another route for you.

bigtex

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 2, 2015
TX
I started building a bbq pit controller with an Arduino, then we moved and it is still in storage. You can find lots of code online to run. It may be easier to modify an existing code to take input from a thermocouple and hydrometer and control fans and/or heaters with a pwm output. Good luck!

chilllucky

Lifer
Jul 15, 2018
Chicago, IL, USA
scoosa.com
downloadfile-10.jpg