Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrcloud

Lurker
Jul 23, 2014
I am new to the pipe and have finally realized what some of you ol timers have said. Sipping, not puffing, is the sweet spot for savoring the tobacco. I find that I need to puff at it periodically to keep the fire burning, but the minute sips of smoke, allowed to waft through the nazal cavity out the nose, alows for both the gustatory and olfactory senses to savour the tobacco properly. Too much smoke and the senses are somewhat overpowered. Add to that a relaxing cadance and its that moment of bliss Eckhart Tolle talks about.
Perhaps there is more to learn here. Any sippers out there got two cents to share?

thesmokingtexan

Can't Leave
Jul 11, 2014
I try my best to resist the urge to puff to get it going again it is better to just relight. I do tend to get into a steady rythem with sipping and this helps to keep it however sometimes before I know it my rythem is to quick and then it gets hot and bites

Mar 1, 2014
I've found that every time I think I'm going as slow as I need to, I can turn it down another notch.

At first I took deep, strong puffs (which just fries everything). I kept my pacing so that the pipe didn't race, but the puffs themselves were too big. Then I learned to use less effort, but my puffing was still too deep, I was filling almost the entire cavity of my mouth with smoke. Now I'm learning to just use the front of my mouth, drawing smoke produces barely any movement.

I also like to draw and expel through the pipe. Some people have fancy names for it, I just call it "keeping the smoke out of my face".

ravkesef

Lifer
Aug 10, 2010
Cheshire, CT