PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

dcon

Lifer
Mar 16, 2019
Jacksonville, FL
35+ years ago I was an assistant manager at a tobacco shop. This was one of two full time jobs. I was 25, had just welcomed my second daughter, and was trying to make ends meet. The shop sold a nice range of pipes from Peterson, Savinelli, GBD, and Dunhill to name a few. I owned around 5 pipes at the time; 2 Grabows , 2 baskets, and 2 Savinelli Romas. The Roma’s I had acquired at the shop. After all, I could not be seen smoking a Grabow and try to sell a Dunhill :). Working around an assortment of awesome pipes, I developed a huge case of pipe envy. My financial realities told me that these were literally “pipe dreams” and the possibility of me actually owning a GBD or a Dunhill was not going to be in my cards anytime soon. Two pipes that I really desired were a Dunhill Billiard and a GBD Canadian.

Life went on, as they say. I really did not start adding significantly to my array of pipes until I remarried, 15 years ago. A few years back I was able to acquire my first Dunhill Billiard, through site sponsor the Danish Pipe Shop. It was a birth year (1961), Tanshell. I have bought 2 more Dunhill Billiards, a Shell Briar and a Bruyere, both birth year pipes. I have monitored eBay over the years and still was not able to find the “just right” GBD Canadian.