Total Beginner Questions - Packing and Smoke Time?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Sep 7, 2020
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Hi all - I’m new to pipe smoking as of this past week - I’ve been enjoying a good cigar on occasion for a few years, and have read up on pipe basics, but only made the (very small) investment in a cob pipe and one light, aromatic blend now. I’ve read all the pointers about not packing too tight, the false light and the relight, etc., but still am wondering whether I’m not getting the hang of it yet or whether this is just how it is : my bowls only last about 15 minutes, and will go out in about 30 seconds if not nursed pretty strongly. Seems a little shorter and higher maintenance than I expected - any thoughts? Can provide more info if needed.

Last edited by a moderator:

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
Check out this thread for different techniques on packing.

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA
How big is the chamber? Whatever method you use to pack the pipe, it should have free draw. But packed tight enough the tobacco won't fall out. Aromatic or any blends should be dried. Dry the tobacco until it's almost dry to the touch when you pinch between thumb and index. Light the tobacco so the top is evenly lit. Sip, do not puff. That should do the trick. You might want to try OTC brands like Carter Hall, Sir Walter Raleigh or something that would be easier to smoke.

hawky454

Lifer
Feb 11, 2016
Austin, TX