PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Swampfox

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 3, 2022
North Central Florida
I’ve read a lot regarding pipe rotations, but I’m curious about smoker’s tobacco rotations. How many tobaccos are in your rotation? How long into your pipe smoking journey did it take to settle on your core blends? I’m new to this hobby but have already found a couple of blends that will probably be long haulers for me.

Reactions: Servant King

verporchting

Lifer
Dec 30, 2018
Jeez, lots, just lots. I admire those who have a few pipes and just one or two favorite blends but I’m not one of them. I love having options and more options - both blends and pipes. Not even sure rotation is an applicable term for how I do it. My selection is largely whatever appeals to me at the moment for both. Wouldn’t change it if I could.

Back in the 80s I mostly had 4-6 pipes and just bought a few ounces of whatever smelled good at the local shop, so I suppose it was fairly predictable, but post internet with all the knowledge and options I just discovered the incredible range of possibilities and … yeah, now it’s nuts.

anotherbob

Lifer
Mar 30, 2019
In the semi-rural NorthEastern USA
honestly I go through little phases where I mainly smoke one thing. Just went from smoking mostly one Scottish blend for about two weeks to now going into a mixture 79 phase. I feel like I get the most out of really sitting with a blend for a while. And when I do pop a tin I tend to smoke that almost straight through. Though it's totally mood based not planned. More like I reach for the same thing then I get a little jaded with it and reach for something else. And sometimes that's something that takes a day sometimes a few weeks. But I moved a few years ago and packed up everything but two blends for the week before moving. I found that I instead of missing other blends was getting more out of the one I picked.

Swampfox

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 3, 2022
North Central Florida