PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mushjoon

Might Stick Around
Nov 26, 2011
Ok, I am still a beginner at pipe smoking, I admit that and it is true.
But, I have to say that my nose is highly sensitive that I can smell a hot dog stand from a few blocks away. (no boasting here)
And I do love aromatic blends.. McClelland's Classic Samsun and the famous local tobacconist store of Ann Arbor, MI, Maison Edward's own bulk blends.
However, I see that I still have a long way to go.
Today, I went to the tobacconist's shop and decided to try Dunhill's Flake. I knew that I had to dry them first, but I stuffed them in and lit 'em.
And...... yeah....... nothing very interesting..... I could somehow smell citrus from the blend.... But wait, smell??? Am I tasting the citrus flavor or smelling the flavor???
What am I supposed to do with tasting the tobacco???
And can you guys also give me a suggestion for a good flake tobacco with solid taste, so I would be like "Wow, so this is how Virginian (or Latakia or whatever) tastes like!!!"
The blend that I have in mind is MacBaren's Navy Flake and Samuel Gawith's Full Virginian blend (I actually want to discover Virginian because I only smoked orientals and cavendish...)

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
Am I tasting the citrus flavor or smelling the flavor???

Actually, both. Your sense of taste is almost useless without your sense of smell. Your olfactory sense allows you to "taste" things by smelling them. Kinda. Google olfactory sense and I'm sure wikipedia will have the full, concise explanation.