PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kamikazesasquatch

Can't Leave
Sep 30, 2011
So another thread (about English blends I think) reminded me of something I've been meaning to ask. I really don't know what kinds of tobacco I'm tasting other than virginia and latakia when I'm smoking. Would it be recommended to order something like the mclelland blending tobaccos so I know exactly what each type tastes like?

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Kamikaze you might try reading some basic materials.

E.g. Wikipedia; that explains some of the fundamentals without a lot of detail.

A basic/rudimentary explanation is a good place to start.

(For me it was a great clarifier.) I had been smoking a pipe for more than 30 years and had a real "I should have had a V-8" moment when I did that.

It's like after learning addition and subtraction one moves on to multiplication and division... then Algebra etc.

I find that when I know what a type of tobacco really is supposed to be... at its most basic...

Then smoke a blend with that tobacco in it...

It is easier for me to recognize that tobacco when I smoke it and gain a greater understanding and therefore learn to appreciate it for what it actually is.

:puffy:

kamikazesasquatch

Can't Leave
Sep 30, 2011
I did some pretty heavy reading at first. I think I know what everything is supposed to taste like but my pallet sucks and I can't seem to pull the flavors others do from blends. AKA Them: "the bar-b-q flavor in this on is the X tobacco" Me: "Bar-b-whatnow?" :) I was thinking maybe if I just got a straight hit of each then that might give me a clear memory of what each flavor I'm tasting actually is. I might try reading about each blend right before smoking it though instead of doing a huge brain dump on all types before going on a tating spree :) Thanks for the suggestion. I'll let you know how that works out. Should have 10 new tins arriving any day now :D

romeowood

Lifer
Jan 1, 2011