PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Johnny_Pipecleaner

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 13, 2019
Mill Valley, CA
I'm not a beginner, but I see pics from forum members showing pipes with what appears to be electrical tape on the stem. I use the rubber bits, but the tape idea interests me. Only thing is, I thought that stuff was toxic? What kind of foodsafe tape are folks using to protect their stems from teeth marks? Thanks!

macaroni

Lifer
Oct 28, 2020
Texas
I'm curious about this also. My vulcanite stems have teeth marks that make me think I'm part beaver (no jokes!LOL). I hate the added thickness of rubber stem tip and the squishy feeling I get when using one--I've dropped a pipe from my mouth more than once :-( and like a secure feeling when I clench!
kindly
mike

• Haha
Reactions: cosmicfolklore

Johnny_Pipecleaner

Nov 13, 2019
Mill Valley, CA
Well I wasn't going to name names, but I think he has me muted anyhow due to a small dispute we got into awhile back regarding KBV. I was in the wrong, and gave him a little too much grief, so @hoosierpipeguy if you don't have me muted--I'm sorry.

But yes, many pics he posts show his pape wrapped in what appears to be electrical tape on the bit. I have always been told to keep that stuff out of my mouth due to toxicity etc, but then again some say the same thing about tobacco smoke lol

92degrees

Lurker
Feb 25, 2019
I went to a couple of hardware stores recently to buy shrink tubing for a few of my "yardwork, fishing, dog hiking" pipes. Every package said the tubing was toxic. I realize that smoking is smoking...but the warning labels put me off using shrink tubing.

mingc

Lifer
Jun 20, 2019
The Big Rock Candy Mountains
Well I wasn't going to name names, but I think he has me muted anyhow due to a small dispute we got into awhile back regarding KBV. I was in the wrong, and gave him a little too much grief, so @hoosierpipeguy if you don't have me muted--I'm sorry.