PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

novicemaker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 12, 2014
Hello novicemaker here,
couple quick questions, and feel free to move my post to the right stops.

Ive been looking at the pipe buy and sell section and a few thoughts came to mind. I am new to this world of smoking.
Ok so i am curious about the different types of stems, like what is vulcanite, acrylic, plastic or rubber as a stem product? And my list the short i know other types of stems so list any you have and help us new peeps out.
What are the big dos and dont of the various types of stems, and any helpful tips on keeping them show case new.
And list any stems that you think are better for new smokers, like airway flow, ease of clean up, and general thoughts along those lines.
Know while i have been browsing the forum every time i have a question come to mind there are so many older topics to filter through that i catch ADD and start looking at topics that i didnt even think of yet. Now i have looked up certain terms i think it'd be nice to have you more experienced peeps tells us newer types what you think.

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
The majority of stems are made from either vulcanite, which is also known as ebonite, and is a product made from hard rubber, or made from lucite, which is a form of plastic. Less common materials are horn, ivory, or wood.

Many smokers have a preference, some preferring vulcanite, others lucite. Vulcanite has a little give to it and can be carved into a comfortably thin flat shape where it meets the bit. it requires more maintanence to keep its looks than does lucite, but some smokers don't like the hardness of lucite stems.