Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

iowamike

Can't Leave
Nov 14, 2010
Obviously i'm new to pipes and tobacco. I seem to get what i consider a good smoke, however I seem to be relighting about every 5 to 10 minutes. I am mostly smoking 1Q and have an oily bowl at the bottom when finished. If I don't chug and take my time I get no gurgle or bite and the flavor is fantastic. Could this be from the pack, moist tobacco, or my smoking technique? I use the 3 step pack method. I get a little better results from Frog Morton in a different pipe. Switching pipes I seem to get the same results. Is this common enough to not worry about as long as I get a good smoke?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

hilojohnny

Lifer
Oct 2, 2010
For me, the number of relights is directly related to how moist the tobacco is....but most importantly, don't let the number of relights worry you....it sounds like you're getting the hang of this business and as you master the slow sipping you'll find more and more of the great flavors!.... :D

collin

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 29, 2010
Oklahoma
If I catch it when it first starts feeling "weak" and I slowly draw while gently tamping around the bowl one time, (and I do mean "gently"), I can generally avoid another relight.
If I've screwed up the packing 'cause I'm in either a hurry or lazy, or the tobacco is really moist,....I might have to relight it once or twice. So I'd say "Yes" to your question as to what causes it.
Lawrence is dead on,....smoking's kinda like driving a truck with a manual transmission,....it just takes time before you find yourself doing it without even thinking about it.

hobie1dog

Lifer
Jun 5, 2010
Cornelius, NC