PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Strike Anywhere

Can't Leave
Nov 9, 2011
Central United States
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

I know a lot of us enjoy having rules to follow with our hobby, but I think a lot of it is unneeded fuss.

Take for instance the idea that you need to use all your butane and purge with each fill.

I had been doing that for years, but lately I wanted to see what would happen if I just top off every few days. I’ve been doing that for a couple months with no problems. After several top offs and I start noticing carbon buildup, I’ll run it dry so I can clean it with alcohol. That’s when I’ll purge and refill.

Anyone else doing it like that? I think as long as you’re not nursing an almost empty butane canister, not shaking the butane before refilling, etc. you’re not getting nearly as much propellant/air in your tank as some think.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: jpmcwjr and BROBS

elessar

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2019
I've got a Xikar Resource II butane and it works and refills great. The flame oscillates when it gets low. I vent the butane and refill with Xikar high altitude butane. I usually have to turn the flame down on a fresh refill.

Reactions: BROBS

elessar

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2019
I know a lot of us enjoy having rules to follow with our hobby, but I think a lot of it is unneeded fuss.

Take for instance the idea that you need to use all your butane and purge with each fill.

I had been doing that for years, but lately I wanted to see what would happen if I just top off every few days. I’ve been doing that for a couple months with no problems. After several top offs and I start noticing carbon buildup, I’ll run it dry so I can clean it with alcohol. That’s when I’ll purge and refill.