PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

b1gb2olo

Lurker
Jul 18, 2024
Pittsburgh
I bought a tin of Early Morning Peterson blend and when I went to open the tin it opened very easily with my hands.

The other tins ( crumble kake and cult blood red moon)
I've purchased I had to pop a seal with a knife and than open the circular tin.

Is this a sign someone tampered with it ? Doesn't seem dried out. I'm new to all this

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: kcghost

AroEnglish

Lifer
Jan 7, 2020
Midwest
I haven't seen this with a round tin but my sample size is not large. But I also wouldn't suspect tampering unless there were some signs. Where did you get it from?

b1gb2olo

Lurker
Jul 18, 2024
Pittsburgh
I think pipes and cigars, was the websites name. I was only concerned because I seem to get nauseated after smoking this.

Now I am new to pipe smoking but the OTC captain black blends and Cult Blood Red Moon didn't give me this feeling

Reactions: AroEnglish

kcghost

Lifer
May 6, 2011
Olathe, Kansas
It happens occasionally on square tins but not to worry provided it has lost all its moisture. There have been reports of some Peterson blends being very easy to open,

Reactions: b1gb2olo

captpat

Lifer
Dec 16, 2014
North Carolina
IME tins usually require a coin or screwdriver to pry open. I wouldn't worry too much about it unless the tobacco was dried out (like crumble into dust dried out).

You may be reacting to nicotine in this blend, try smoking on a full stomach, drink water, smoke slower, try a peppermint, or do what I do take a nap.

b1gb2olo

Lurker
Jul 18, 2024
Pittsburgh
IME tins usually require a coin or screwdriver to pry open. I wouldn't worry too much about it unless the tobacco was dried out (like crumble into dust dried out).

You may be reacting to nicotine in this blend, try smoking on a full stomach, drink water, smoke slower, try a peppermint, or do what I do take a nap.
Thank you very much for the advice

Sobrbiker

Lifer
Jan 7, 2023
Casa Grande, AZ