PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

anotherbob

Lifer
Mar 30, 2019
In the semi-rural NorthEastern USA
Has anyone tried Presbyterian match from P&C? I'm still relatively new to the pipe world and finally picked up some Presbyterian after reading all the glowing reviews and was blown away by this blend! Granted my experience with English tobacco came from the sub-par blends offerd from my local B&M cigar shop, but wow what a difference! This could easily be an all day smoke for me but the price tage for this pipe smoker on a budget is a little to high for an all dayer, and would rather save the real stuff for a long quit weekend night. The match, budget wise is perfect but would hate to waist money on another sub-par blend!
wait are you named after one of the best nes games few people played?

Reactions: CoffeeAndBourbon

anotherbob

Lifer
Mar 30, 2019
In the semi-rural NorthEastern USA
I tried Presbyterian for the first time this weekend. I also tried a couple of C&D English American blends,First amendment and another one I can't remember. This was my first time trying English blends. I thought the Presbyterian was well made. It was well packaged and it burned really nice right out of the tin. I enjoyed how cool it burned no tongue bite at all. I can't put my finger on the taste. I didn't hate it but I didn't love it. There was almost a rubber taste to me and all of the three blends shared this. I'm guessing this is the orientals? I have real mixed feelings about it I don't think I'm drawn to this genre of tobacco. I have a tin that was given to me. I think I'll revisit it later. Also after trying the Presbyterian everything afterwards that I tried tasted like Presbyterian.
it's a lot better after breathing for about a week. It really opens up a lot. Tasted kind of flat and bland when I opened my first tin. But after ignoring it for a week and then coming back I found there are similar blends I like better but I got why it was considered a classic. It's darn good stuff.