PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sinnlichkeit

Lurker
Nov 13, 2020
Hello. I'm new at pipe smoking, but I've been studying the WWII history for many years. There is something very difficult to research, at least for me, and it's related to the pipes. What tobacco did the Germans smoke back then? If there were as many as there are nowdays, then which one did they prefer? As far as I've seen, the German officers smoked pipes more than everyone else, and I'm curious about what tobacco did they have access to and what kind of pipes they used.
Thanks for reading.

Reactions: Ebarber

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
Hello. I'm new at pipe smoking, but I've been studying the WWII history for many years. There is something very difficult to research, at least for me, and it's related to the pipes. What tobacco did the Germans smoke back then? If there were as many as there are nowdays, then which one did they prefer? As far as I've seen, the German officers smoked pipes more than everyone else, and I'm curious about what tobacco did they have access to and what kind of pipes they used.
Thanks for reading.
the pipes were mostly squat bulldogs etc with horn stems..
the tobacco was usually shag like cigarette rolling tobacco, just smoked in a pipe.

and yes Hitler was anti-smoking but that doesn't mean that most people in Germany didn't smoke.

pappymac

Lifer
Feb 26, 2015
That is an interesting question. I would guess they smoked a lot of Turkish or Oriental blends since they would have had more access to it after the war started. They may have also smoked some latakia heavy blends since it would have been available to them.

I've seen a number of historical photos showing enlisted men in the German army smoking pipes also so I don't think it was just officers.