PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hobie1dog

Lifer
Jun 5, 2010
Cornelius, NC
just had my blood checked and my sugar count was 462 :crying: :crazy: supposed to be under 100, so I'm technically a diabetic. All this is from the same thing that causes everyone else's diabetes...too damned much refined sugar. Coke, Sweet Tea, desserts, candy, white potatoes ( a large baked potato has the equivalent of 30 teaspoons of sugar in it ). I'm reading a book now which says that all diabetes can be reversed by eliminating refined sugar totally( which for some reason people still like to shoot insulin daily, and grab for a candy bar when their sugar is off ) :crazy:
So I'm gonna boycott refined sugar and then get re-tested in a couple of weeks to see how far it lowers it.

onizuka

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 28, 2010
Bit of a diabetes PSA and also I'm not a doctor, nor do I claim to be, but I do feel it is necessary to give my opinion on the matter:
Diabetes isn't just about high blood sugar. Those with type 1 diabetes (insulin dependent) cannot produce usable insulin from their pancreas, hence the need for insulin. The candy bar is to counteract either over bolus of insulin or times when they haven't felt hungry or didn't have time to get food, so it's an instant rise in blood sugar - just as very high blood sugar can be dangerous, very low blood sugar (under 60) can be fatal!
Type 2 diabetes entails insulin resistance, in which case, the person can produce insulin, but due to their diet (most type 2 diabetics are overweight), their mechanisms for maintaining a normal blood glucose level are hindered. Some may require pills to lower their blood sugar and some may require insulin - all depending on what their doctor sees fit.