Pipe Smoking: A Thinking Man's Hobby or a Respite from Mental Chatter?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Talon

Might Stick Around
Nov 7, 2021
Ontario, Canada
Please capitalize important words in titles. - jpm.

I always thought that smoking a pipe would stimulate the mind and help me reflect on things that were stressing me out or causing me problems in life but I find when I light up my bowl I'm almost completely thoughtless and more focused on the subtleties of the pipe. I'm not sure if this is because I'm fairly new to the pipe smoking hobby or maybe this is just me still learning the cadence of the pipe or the nuances of a smoldering bowl.

So I guess as my session comes to a close I just wanted to ask what is your guys experience with this? Do you find you are more reflective and active minded when your smoking a pipe or is it more of a meditation in which you sort of become one with the pipe for that brief period of time and fall in rhythm with it? Happy piping!

Last edited by a moderator:

HawkeyeLinus

Lifer
Oct 16, 2020
Iowa
I'm still learning, and sometimes I'm focused on some of the same things, like technique and maybe trying too hard to discern this or that. But a bowl enjoyed on the deck a couple of weeks ago is memorable for just the relaxing aspect of it and one enjoyed by the fire quietly celebrating some good news a week ago was particularly nice, more like an easy going, second nature sort of thing. Mostly though, I'm still learning, trying different pipes and tobaccos and relighting without remorse, lol.

Streeper541

Lifer
Jun 16, 2021
Spencer, OH
I smoke a pipe because it is my preferred method of indulging in that glorious gift bestowed from God to man, tobacco. It's not a hobby, it's a lifestyle really.