Pipe Restoration Series #1: My First Restoration! Rusticated Author (Bulldog?) with Metal Condenser. P1

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

JPremo

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 22, 2020
Viva Las Vegas
Hello all! I've taken up the hobby of pipe restoration and I picked out my first victim!

This is part one of the photo album, before any work is done. I'll take any and all suggestions into consideration as this is my first project so feel free to lend me some tips!
Full Gallery with Descriptions
nF6YYJH.jpg

ZPXoQ0p.jpg

I'm aiming to get a similar look to this style of staining when it's finished, black in the deep ridges and mahogany for the raised parts.
pcrork6-pf-1002.png

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
It will likely smoke wet with that stinger in place. Looks good so far but I would ditch the stinger.

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
The stinger is friction fit - soak the tenon in a depth of alcohol, and gently work it out. Getting those groves stained darker is going to be tricky. Pick up some hobby paint sticks and work slowly. (use black or dark brown)

Reactions: JPremo

Wifesbain

Might Stick Around
Jul 28, 2020
Cincinnati, OH
For the grooves, how about these guys:
6D0B7C94-034B-44B2-96C0-5C20187133E3.jpeg
the tube is 18ga. Some of the fine pottery houses use them to apply glaze into tiny grooves. The raised edge of the groove keeps it from running where you don’t want it. Black or brown leather die should work well in them. Then the mahogany stain over everything since it won’t affect the black or brown.

Wifesbain

Might Stick Around
Jul 28, 2020
Cincinnati, OH
You've already cleaned up the stem? Lets see some pictures then!

How do you plan on removing the existing colour from the bowl?