PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PiedmontPipe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 24, 2022
Hey forumites,
I‘m looking at this design and hesitating to buy one, as I have no experience with Petersons and, therefore, with P-Lips. What are your experiences with this pipe specifically and with Peterson and P-lips generally? I see that a “fishtail” version exists, but is more difficult to locate. The sandblasted finish is what I’m looking at. All opinions, warnings, and enabling welcome.
Thanks

JohnMosesBrowning

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 5, 2018
Southeast Michigan
I have one p-lip and I'm reselling it back to smokingpipes.com. I just can't get used to it and I hate smoking that pipe. The "YMMV" from above is absolutely right. I can see how folks might love them, but it's all on how you smoke. I smoke sitting and reading while holding my pipe in one hand and my book in the other. I do not clench. Putting the bit to my lips to "sip" the pipe doesn't work for me with a p-lip the way it does with a fishtail. With the fishtail I can basically just touch the bit to my lips whereas the p-lip I have to put it all the way into my mouth (otherwise your upper lip blocks the hole in the top of the bit).

I totally get it that maybe I smoke weird, but there you have it. Again, I think they might be amazing for some folks who smoke differently than I do, and clearly the are people plenty of folks love them. I wonder if maybe there's a less expensive Pete you've had your eyes on you could test the waters with before pulling the trigger on the SH. That's the rub, you're not going to know if you love them or hate them until you have one.

RobNYC

Lifer
Dec 10, 2021
Queens, N.Y.