Packing, Lighting, and Enjoying -- Getting the most out of a bowl.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

benjamin

Lurker
Jun 25, 2014
Hey all,
I am fairly new to the pipe world, but I know enough about myself to say a few things: I'm big on English blends (favorite go-to tobacco being Mississippi River) and I like to light with matches. I am having some problems/questions however:
1) I can't seem to get a full flavor out of my smoke. I'm not sure if it's how I'm packing or if the bowl shape is wrong or how I am smoking, but I would appreciate some advice on how to get the most flavor. I smoke primarily Mississippi River. Any thoughts? i.e. How I should be packing, lighting, tamping, etc.
2) I have read quite a bit about the moisture content of Mississippi River and letting it dry out. How dry should it be? How moist?
3) How slowly should I be puffing? It seems that my bowl gets pretty hot about halfway through my smoke, but when I try and slow it down, it just goes out. Any thoughts?
Thanks guys!

dottiewarden

Lifer
Mar 25, 2014
Toronto
Welcome to the forum Benjamin!
Sounds like you're off to a good start.
I usually pack fairly lightly and tamp gently as I go.
Getting the right moisture level can be a bit tricky, but as soon as you light up you'll immediately know if it's too moist or too dry.
When I get the moisture level right and the bowl properly filled, I just sit back and slowly sip on the pipe. All this talk is getting me in the mood for my next bowl: EMP in a Chacom Salsa 297 Smooth Canadian!

benjamin

Lurker
Jun 25, 2014
Thanks dottiewarden, I appreciate the advice!
How would I be able to tell if it was too moist or too dry? Any signs to watch out for?

drennan

Can't Leave
Mar 30, 2014
Normandy