PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Effortlessdepths

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 7, 2020
Micanopy, FL
Quick question. In general, which contains more nicotine by weight, cigar tobacco or pipe tobacco? Is it a question of alkalinity and absorption rate? I've heard VA and Burley both have the same amount but va is absorbed by the lungs better and Burley by mouth and nose. But by weight, is there more nicotine in cigar tobacco or va or burley

kg.legat0

Lifer
Sep 6, 2019
Southwestern PA
Funny you should ask, I am not an expert but just smoked a cigar that was given to me by a friend...that thing packed a punch compared to what I am used to (mostly smoke Va. flakes and VaPers), and I don't think it was particularly strong, (spelling may be off) it was a Dominico Turano

...nicely made, interesting flavors...but, also, reminds me why I smoke pipes.

May 2, 2020
Louisiana
Don’t know on a weight basis, but generally cigars have more noticeable nicotine than a bowlful of most pipe blends, with exceptions here and there. There are very few pipe blends that will give me a buzz with one bowl, unless I am very dehydrated. Of course there is cigar size and bowl size to consider, I am just generalizing.

aguineapig

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 12, 2014
As others have said, serving size matters. I like the 4x32 cigarillos for this reason.

I do think there is more diversity in nicotine content amongst pipe blends. Even mild cigars have a noticeable amount to me. Black Cavendish? Don't notice a thing.

Reactions: BROBS

saltedplug

Lifer
Aug 20, 2013
Cigars. But as cigrmaster said, it depends on the tobacco type in each. My cigar nemesis was La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero. Each draw was very potent, and I usually smoked the more potent over the less. Truth be told I came to prefer medium-full over the full-bodied. But then I'd go for the fire breathers all over again.

mikestanley

Lifer
May 10, 2009