New Member here. Hello from New Haven, CT.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Mar 11, 2023
New Haven, CT
Hello smokers!
I am new to the art of pipe smoking. Actually, this is my 2nd time getting into it. The first time I was a 20 year old kid and although I really enjoyed it, I was told I looked silly smoking a pipe at that age. Now I am 49 years old and 2 things have happened. 1, I no longer look silly smoking a pipe and 2, I no longer care whether anybody thinks I do anyway.
My grandfather smoked a pipe and I remember absolutely loving the manly smell of it. Like me, he was an intellectual and I picture him always reading a book, sitting in his favorite chair smoking the Sherlock Holmes style bent pipe that he loved so much. This is what piqued my interest in pipe smoking all those years ago. Now, after a few months quitting cigarettes, I figured this might be a good time to take it back up. For now I have a cheap Dr. Grabow pipe but I am looking to upgrade. The problem is that there are so many pipe brands and some are very expensive. Can anyone recommend me a decent brand pipe? I am looking to spend around $150 and I prefer European made non-filtered pipes. I appreciate anyones input and look forward to communicating with you all.

MCJ

Can't Leave
May 22, 2022
NW Connecticut
Welcome! One brand that fits your requirements (European made, under $150) is Peterson. While a lot of their pipes do have filters there are also quite a few that do not (you just have to read the product descriptions carefully). If you live in New Haven, CT then I'm sure you are familiar with the Owl Shop? You could probably handle many different pipes (Peterson and other brands) there in their shop and see what brands/shapes/sizes feel best in your hand. You will know when the right one "speaks" to you!

Hillcrest

Lifer
Dec 3, 2021
Bagshot Row, Hobbiton