PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

duncan

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 28, 2010
New Jersey
Well I decided to try out my green thumb on growing my own tobacco. I picked up a yellow Virgina, perique, and Black Sea Samsun Turkish. I will get them started in the basement in a few weeks so I have little seedlings to transfer over. If anyone has any been there done that suggestions please let me hear them since, I am new to tobacco growing.

brian64

Lifer
Jan 31, 2011
Very cool...will certainly be interested to learn how it progresses. Good luck!

gecko13

Feb 2, 2011
Goodyear,AZ
Keep us informed on how this goes. From what I have been reading, the growing will be the easy part. The hardest part will be the curing and aging of the leaves...

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
My stepfather had a very green thumb and tried his hand at growing some "cigars".

He managed to complete the process and create a couple of dozen.

His experiment was a dismal failure. :cry: They were horrible.

unclearthur

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
A year of aging would have probable produced some decent if not wonderful smokes. I have several varieties I am planning on planting.

chero

Can't Leave
Dec 25, 2010
top the plants when they get there bud in the top and keep the suckers broke off as they grow on the stalk of the plants, that makes plants produce bigger leaves.when ready to harvest you can pick the leaves, string them and hang up in a dry airy place and let them cure. handle them after they cure only when they are damp on a damp day. they call it being in case, that is when the leaves are soft, you can tell by feel. they cure in about 3 to 4 months if i remember right. just make sure you pick all leaves before it frost.