PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

indianafrank

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 15, 2014
If there are any psychologists, psychiatrists, or therapists on the forum please don’t take the following personal.
Went to my wife’s office Xmas party last night. I met a woman who was the wife of one of the employees at the office. We started a conversation, and it pretty much was going well until she says.
“So you don’t like shrinks?”
“Nope.”
“Why?”
“Because some brains can’t be figured out. And shrinks never admit to that. ”
“I don’t like the term “shrink. I am a psychologist.”
“Why don’t you like that term?” I asked.
“Because it’s demeaning.”
“Why do you feel it’s demeaning?”
“Why are you questioning me?” Lady shrink asked.
“I’m interested. Why does my interest bother you?”
“There you go again. You asked me another question. It’s like your analyzing me. Lets get back to my question. Why do you not like psychologists, psychiatrists, or therapists?”
“Look. I’ve seen many them throughout the years. All different kinds with many different letters before and after their names, and I’m living proof they can't help some brains. My brain is different.”
She reaches into her purse, and then hands me her business card.
I said to her. “Look. I mean no disrespect. But I can’t be helped…and I have papers to prove it.
My wife then walks over to where we were sitting and the lady shrink says to her.
“We’ve had quite the conversation. I’m looking forward to seeing your husband again.”
So on the drive home my wife asked me what we were talking about.
“I think she thinks I’m crazy.” I answered.

My wife yells. “OMG. I HAVE TO WORK WITH HER HUSBAND. What did you say to her? “
“I told her I was crazy and that I had papers to prove it. What’s the big deal?”
And then my wife has the nerve to say to me.
“I can’t believe it. I can’t take you anywhere.”

framitz

Can't Leave
Oct 25, 2013