PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

drew

Lurker
Jan 13, 2014
Any tips on working the holes in a chunk of oak with no power tools? And, could i use whiskey as a finish when I'm done? It's a one piece too well, most likely, this is my first attempt and I figured a one piece would be easier, I should be good with shaping with the files. The wood has sat for more than 3 months by now and it was a branch i found here on treasure island SF, so if this fails i roughly have 5 more attempts. I'm aiming for a straight pot or billiard and if this is succesful will be my first "real" pipe. Oh and I'm broke so more reason for a one piece and I can't go out and buy more tools.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Drew, what do you mean it's one piece? Most pipes are one piece in the bowl and shank, with a stem inserted. I think you

could get an inexpensive stem that would make the pipe more standard. Making a stem out of wood, the stem would get

chewed up quickly and you'd need to lop it off and insert a stem made of vulcanite or acrylic/lucite anyway. It sounds like a

noble project, sort of like what the seamen of old did, with lots of time on their hands. Oak is pretty tough going, but if you

keep chipping away, you can do it by-and-by. Not something you can rush. For drilling, you need a hand drill if you can't

do power tools. I sure wouldn't attempt hewing it out with a cutting tool. Be sure to get the right size drill head so you don't

have to do this twice, and plan carefully so the bowl and the airway meet correctly. Good luck.
When I was in San Francisco my first time on a minesweeper, Treasure Island was a big Naval base, but that's all gone. We

were able to tie up at a city pier so we could walk right into the wharf and city, no Naval base hassle.

drew

Lurker
Jan 13, 2014