PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cabinfever

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 6, 2016
My brother-in-law lives more than 1000 miles away in Texas. When we get together - about once a year - we sit outside, smoke imported cigars, and solve world problems. Traditionally, we give each other cigars as gifts for birthdays.
Now that I have enjoyed my pipe smoking hobby for a while, I would like to introduce my BIL to it. I am still a newbie at pipe smoking, so I come to this forum for advice and information, which I greatly appreciate. BIL has no idea that I have started pipe smoking.
So, I need your advice/recommendations again! Here is my question, I would like to gift my BIL with a pipe and tin/pouch or two of tobacco for his birthday. I don't want to spend more than $40, consequently I think this means his first pipe will be a MM cob.
Any recommendations on tobacco for a true beginner? I would like to get him tobacco(s) that almost anyone (especially a beginner) would enjoy. I was thinking of Carter Hall, but CH is so "ordinary." I would like to impress him with a "fancy" or imported tobacco that is very enjoyable in both taste and smoke aroma.
Thanks in advance!

theosprey247

Can't Leave
Feb 29, 2016
Buy one of those corn cob samplers that P&C sells. I believe they also have some other samplers that include a pipe (briar) and tobacco.

theloniousmonkfish

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 1, 2017
A cob and pouch of Carter would be what 10-15 dollars? Plenty of room leftover to pick up a tin of something "fancy", maybe find a cleaned up Grabow or older American Briar online with the rest.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK