PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

eightywon

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 4, 2014
I know asking what gun is best is like asking what pipe is best, but here it goes anyways lol. Looking to buy a .40 cal soon. What should I look for, maybe more importantly what should I stay away from? Open to 9mm or other suggestions. Range/home defense.

eightywon

Apr 4, 2014
Btw I have very little experience. My father was an enthusiast but when I was very young an incident occurred which resulted in the government confiscating my inheritance. I plan on going to the range and learning about/renting a few models.

drwatson

Lifer
Aug 3, 2010
toledo
S&W 40 cal. Can't say enuff about them. However for home defense cannot beat a side by side stagecoach gun, or a taurus judge takes 45 or 410.

eightywon

Apr 4, 2014
Also, because of the new CA laws that go into effect Jan 1 (which I am not too familiar with) I'm looking for an automatic. Possibly an AR-15 while I can just because. Revolvers/shotguns we can talk about next year. My security supervisor at work is the one who suggest I buy now.

texmexpipe

Oct 20, 2014
S&W M&P model .40 very reasonable price and a great shooter. Great if you want to eventually carry and great for learning how to shoot. Not too much gun but not so short of a barrel that you have a learning curve to shoot it.

wyfbane

Lifer
Apr 26, 2013
Tennessee
Honestly, what is your price range? if you are looking for awesome, get a kimber .45
If you are on a budget, SW or Ruger .40 is good.
You need to go to a gun store and just HOLD them. One of the guns on the wall will call to you, just like a good pipe will.

eightywon

Apr 4, 2014
I spent a few minutes in a shop. I like the weight of the S&W's I was holding. I liked the grip on the 9mm. I have smaller hands. Is this typical if the 2 calibers? Looking to spend ~$600.

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
I'm a revolver guy and love my old Taurus .38 special. (model 85 I believe)