PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

beltrus

Lurker
Oct 1, 2018
I am new to pipes, but have been smoking cigars for a long time. Here to learn about the inside tips and tricks, as I appear to have issues with packing.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I think you mean "my kind of town, Chicago is." Grew up in Chicago land. Went to school at UI Navy Pier and Westside Congress Campus, whatever's it's called now, before transferring to U.Mo. Columbia. Welcome aboard.

beefeater33

Lifer
Apr 14, 2014
Central Ohio
Welcome beltrus!....

I came over from cigars too, and packing gave me the most trouble.....

Don't pack your pipe tight, like a cigar is rolled, pack it MUCH looser than you think you should. After lighting, you can GENTLY tamp to get the burn right..

takes a bit of practice, but persevere........... it will come!............ :puffy:

brooklynpiper

Part of the Furniture Now
May 8, 2018
Welcome to the boards.

This is what I do: drop tobacco in the bowl, use the tamper thinking you are just trying to knock the air out of the tobacco, throw some more tobacco in, use the tamper again a little harder, as if you were applying just the bare minimum amount of pressure to knock the air out of risen dough.
You'll probably be fine after that, depending on the bowl you might add a little more and tamp it again, but it should always be light.
The three step tamping isn't soft, medium, hard but lightest, lighter, light.

chilllucky

Lifer
Jul 15, 2018
Chicago, IL, USA
scoosa.com
If you're in the city, head downtown to Iwan Ries. They'll make the time to show you anything you need to know about smoking a pipe, and it's an amazing place besides.