PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lohengrin

Lifer
Jun 16, 2015
Tom Eltang kindly answered to a mail I sent to him in which I praised his design qualities. He added that design is importat, but who build pipes must follow briar too. So I understood that I had to start my drawings following the flame and bird eyes of the block of briar I actually had in my hands.

As a beginner, I tried to follow exactly the shape briar was suggesting to me and here's the result of this experimentation:
This is Boar
yjYZhMFh.jpg
RZOuvAwh.jpg
eHJtbnVh.jpg
tWURZHqh.jpg
M8jaNU5h.jpg

After I modified a little bit the stem
54V31S3h.jpg

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
That appears to be one massive pipe! How about a shot with a ruler or quarter included.
It's different, that's for sure. Different, still interesting, not unpleasant to look at but . . . different. Your "eye" is certainly different than mine. I'd have to remove more briar to get to the pipe were I doing the work. Still, don't let my opinion affect your concept.

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
I'm not a huge fan of non-traditional pipe shapes, but I actually really like this one. Like Warren says, a little size perspective would be nice so we could see how big it is.

alexnorth

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 7, 2015
Definitely a different but good-looking pipe. I like the shot from underneath.

carytobacco

Can't Leave
Nov 23, 2012
Cary, NC
Amazing. It looks as if you went as non-traditional as the briar allowed, without going overboard just for the sake of being non-traditional. I think it looks great.

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
You certainly took the 'follow the briar' advice, and a lovely block that is.
I look forward to seeing more of your work as you continue on.
-- Pat

Jan 4, 2015
Massachusetts