PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

foldedflat

Lurker
May 17, 2011
Hello, all. I know I'd never keep up with a reviews blog (I have enough trouble with the fiction blog I write), so I thought I'd just post here on occasion. I'm not an expert, so please forgive my mistakes and assumptions.
At the Chicago show, I bought some of Pease's new Triple Play plug, and also got a small two-pipe sample. The C&D folks labeled it "XXX Play" which I found fitting; it shares a lot with the G&H ropes..
I sliced a pipe's worth into a rough broadcut (about 1/4" wide) and rubbed it out, then let it dry for about an hour. It's moist and needs the time. Hidden in the middle are some beautiful lemon and red virginias, made orange and brown by the pressing process. That's the first indication that this is a very fresh release; I don't think it had more than a week or two in the tin before making its way to Chicago, in line with some other C&D tobacco I've ordered. (I once got a tin from an internet retailer that had made its way through the whole demand chain to my door just two weeks after it was sealed; C&D doesn't hold back!) The rest of the leaf is dark, soft and fragrant, some almost onion-skin thin when fully rubbed out.
With the broad cut I made, I have to be a little more involved loading a pipe; big leaves go on the bottom, then the smaller pieces to the top, pressed down to keep the whole thing in line.. I chose a small Stanwell second that does well with virginias.