PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

68748Joe

Lurker
May 12, 2024
Nebraska USA
Ok - really dumb question, but I’m new at this. Can any pipe use a filter, or is there a difference in the build? I see pipes are 6mm, some 9mm, and I’m assuming that’s the size of the draw tube? Or is that wrong?

I ordered a Rattray pipe a few minutes ago, and the description says it is a 9mm filter pipe. The Tinsky pipe I ordered a few days ago says filter=none in the description. Dunno about the 6 or 9mm part. Came in today and I tried it out while messing with the big green egg grill my son gave me, but I’m getting way off topic.

So to use a filter, the pipe has to be made to work with one? And I’ve read here while searching, a guy doesn’t have to use a filter if not desired.

If I could get a bit of clarification on the differences, I would appreciate it. Sorry to be asking such basic questions. 🤓

Joe

RookieGuy80

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 6, 2023
Maryland, United States
So it sounds like you've just about got it. Most pipes made now are filtered in some way. And many in the past took filters. Now, not all pipes can take filters. And this that do can only take filters that size; it wouldn't work putting a 6mm filter in a pipe that takes 9mm.

You're also correct in a pipe doesn't require a filter to be enjoyed. If you smoke a pipe that takes a filter, though, it will be a much wider more open draw. Some makers (like Savinelli) offer adapters which choke down the draw like you have a filter in it, but without the filtering.

Me, I prefer a wider more open draw. So the first thing I'll do with a new pipe is yank the filter out. But then sometimes I'll use the Rock Maple Totally Not a Filter thing that Brigham comes with on some more goopy aromatics because I like that the filter does to those. Others wouldn't smoke a pipe without a filter. It's all personal preference, if you're enjoying your smokes you're doing it right.