PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Wheelspin

Lurker
Jun 18, 2020
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Hello,

I am following this forum for a long time and decided to post my first question as I am laboring with my pipe and bad taste.

I bought my first pipe (Vauen Basic, slightly bent) in spring 2019 and started with tobaccos like McBarren Scottish Mixture Blend, Capstain blue and Amphora Full Aroma. Why this tobaccos? As I life in Germany, it's pretty easy to get them (OTC). Obviously, as a newbie I struggled with packing and tongue bite. I got more and more frustrated and left the pipe for a long time aside. Perhaps I smoked too fast and hot. I produced a lot of dense smoke like a cigar. The new pipe had to stand a lot of violation.

However, at the beginning of 2020 I gave it a new try. I done my research and bought some (I hope) high quality tobaccos:
- Caledonian Highland Cream
- DTM (Dan Tobacco): Da Vinci, Devil's Holiday and Sweet Honeydew Vanilla.

The first puffs of Caledonian did not taste well. After a while, I gentle noticed some flavours though not often. As result, I haven't had any tongue bite anymore. Afterwards, I smoked Devil's Holiday and SHV.
I was really impressed by Devil's holiday. It was the first time I really enjoyed a pipe (without any relight) and could taste the wonderful wild-berry aroma for rough the whole bowl, it worked out a few times. At this moment I thought I got it unlike I gave SHV a try. Can't taste anything. Puffed it a few times, no aroma, tastes like old socks. Sorry, but I was able to build a fine cake at the first half of the bowl (is this ok?). I always have leftover tobacco and I'm not able to smoke till bottom.