PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

faedother

Lurker
Feb 22, 2011
KY
I have tried to search the forums for this topic and I have not found it. So if I have missed a topic that has already been made on this subject, please point me in the right direction.

I am new to owning pipes. So I am debating on starting with a corncob pipe or go for a briar pipe. My brothers both have briar pipes and I like them. However, after reading this article and the ones associated with it. I find myself questioning what I should do.

I guess the problem is that I know I like longer, curved pipes. This comes from the days that I smoke cigars. I never liked the hot smoke filling my nose. I have a very sensitive sense of smell. I also am use to using my brothers’ briar pipes; by ‘use to’, I mean that those are the only type I have smoked out of when I have smoked a pipe.

So the question that I would like to ask, is it okay to start with a briar or should I start with a corncob? Also are the good, online, stores that I can look for a starter kit?

Thank you for taking the time to read this post.

-Fae

maduroman

Part of the Furniture Now
May 15, 2010
start with whatever pipe you want. a pipe is an extention of you, if you don't like it you will not enjoy smoking it.

yuri66

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 17, 2010
Maduroman is right choose what you like, either corn cob or briar, as for my suggestion find a Dr Grabow, great pipes at a great price

sjolie

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 11, 2011
I would suggest both a briar and cob. Cobs are so inexpensive that it makes sense to have a couple. You can order them directly from Missouri Meerschaum (www.corncobpipe.com) Also I suggest getting a hardwood from them too, also very cheap and like the cobs they lose their natural flavor after a few bowls. I have 2 cobs, 1 hardwood and 2 briars (one of which just arrived today from eBay).