PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

denholrl

Might Stick Around
Mar 27, 2011
I've been collecting Celius for a few years now and especially like shape 12, a half- to three-quarter bent slender Dublin. I have examples of shape 12 in the top four grades, lacking only a Pawn (sandblast) to complete the set (I'm waiting to find one as nice as the one that I was too cheap to bid up on on eBay a couple of years ago. Still kicking myself.)
Although I've had a Queen for several years, I saw another Queen 12 on eBay that looked beautiful, except that the stem was a replacement and a taper which I believe Celius never used. But, I liked the looks of the pipe well enough to bid on it and I won that one. The pipe arrived. I cleaned it and had a first smoke in it. It was fantastic; my best-smoking Celius. The grain was a near King as it could have been without actually receiving that highest grade stamp. And, it was light as a feather. To my surprise I didn't miss the original stem at all. In fact, I think the taper stem improves the (visual) flow of the pipes. So much for being a stem purist.
I'd like to hear some comments from other Celius collectors . . .
denholrl

K

klause

Hi Denholrl,
I've got a few myself, mainly the Chess series. They are, to my mind, some of the most beautifully, gracefully, elegant pipes in existence (I'm a huge fan, as you can tell).
Only yesterday I smoked my recently acquired Zenia Queen for the first time - an amazingly light pipe - and was, once again, bowled over at the smoking qualities of the pipe. He had a knack for graving an implement that ticks all my boxes.