PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

trevert

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 11, 2009
NC
I go through prodigious piles of audiobooks in the course of my job - Sitting in the workshop and sanding and filing for long periods of time gets pretty darned dull, so it helps to put on a good book to listen to. I first got hooked on audiobooks ages ago when I worked as a sales rep and drove many long hours every day. Anyway, I occasionally post short reviews to another forum I frequent (mainly devoted to horror/SF/geek stuff) and could repost a few here too if anyone is interested.
Best one I've listened to lately is Peter Clines' "14", a wonderfully fun blend of horror, comedy, "Lost"-style mystery, and Scooby Doo.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
I don't know if you guys know about this site: librivox.org

You can download tons of movies and more importantly audio books.

Everything on there is free, and "in the public domain".

I have all the of the Sherlock Holmes and listen to them daily.

I probably have a couple of them memorized. :)

There are also all the old radio dramas, and tons of other cool stuff.

I download the MP3 and put them on my phone.

:puffpipe:

trevert

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 11, 2009
NC
Peter Clines' "14"
I recently finished this audiobook and loved it. It was loads of fun. It is by Peter Clines, an author whose work I've previously read in "Ex-Heroes", a very straightforward genre mashup of superheroes and zombies (After the zombie apocalypse, the world's masked avenger types round up the survivors in LA and attempt to defend them inside a fortified compound. This was every bit as entertaining and as dumb as it sounds).