PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ahi Ka

Lurker
Feb 25, 2020
Aotearoa (New Zealand)
I also recommend totalleafsupply for their Latakia
I’ve been hesitant to post this for a while, but supposedly their Latakia is old stock Syrian. I’m not familiar enough with Latakia to vouch for its provenance, and the supplier did confirm that it was shipped through Cyprus. Might need some of the old timers to give it a sample and confirm it for us. Now don’t be dicks and hoard it all. Plenty to go around.

Wholeleaftobacco also do an amazing dark fired which I use as a condiment for blending.

pantsBoots

Lifer
Jul 21, 2020
Terra Firma
Recently, when I want a unique English, I reach for a Scottish. R. Lewis Tree Mixture has been fitting the bill, but is currently being eclipsed by Rattray's Red Rapparee or Black Mallory.

There's also the Balkan route. I'm pretty new to all of this.

May 2, 2020
Louisiana
If one is going the Balkan route, I honestly haven’t found many currently available blends that can hold a candle to Balkan Supreme. I didn’t mention it earlier because it’s not much different from other Englishes in terms of ingredients, but it has become the yardstick by which I measure all other traditional English/Balkan blends that are available.

I would add G. L. Pease’s Spark Plug to the list. It has a sweet, slightly tangy element to it from its Orientals that I haven’t found in many other blends. It is quite different in my opinion.

Also, if you count “aromatic Englishes,” then Wilke’s new Lizzie Blood Red English is a good blend, but a bit of a departure from traditional English blends, with the Burley and sweet Cavendish. I’m not usually a fan of aro Englishes, but I have really enjoyed that one.

pantsBoots

Lifer
Jul 21, 2020
Terra Firma
Though some of us use that as a description of an Oriental forward English, it's really just a marketing term to liken a blend to Balkan Sobranie.